Leaf It To Me and Thoughts on Creating Art

I’m behind in posting to my blog as I’ve been busy creating.  It’s a good thing I took lots of pictures, because some of the pieces are no longer in my studio.

Here is the first one I made:

6-x-6

This is a 6″ x 6″ piece made for the Rochester Contemporary Art Center in Rochester, NY.  There will be an exhibit of original works of art to raise money to support the center, and to help with the costs of running the excellent programs offered to the community.  It will be open from June 6 – July 12, 2009, and each piece of art will sell for a mere $20.  This is the last year for the show, and my first time contributing a piece.  Hopefully, someone will like it and purchase it.

Some of you might recognize the background.  This was one of the blocks I made when I was experimenting with slicing, dicing, and fusing fabric this past February.  I didn’t have a clue what I would do with this piece, and I didn’t have a clue what I wanted to make for the show.   I had 2 days to complete the piece, and was blessed by a sudden burst of inspiration. 

A section of the block was cut away, and I had a couple of embroidered leaves left over from a project I made in the 90’s.  Yes, I save everything.  It took a long time to machine embroider those leaves on tulle, then to trim around the edges.  I had made oodles of them for the original project and these were the very last leaves.  The threads I used worked perfectly with the colors on the block.  Voila, Leaf It To Me was born.

This small project reinforced the idea of creating something everyday.  It’s important to work in your studio even if you don’t have a specific project in mind.  Trying new techniques – building a supply of embellishments – dyeing fabric, threads or yarn.  It might all seem to be random “busy” work at times.  But I’ve discovered practically everything I make eventually turns out to be just perfect for a totally unexpected project. 

I truly believe our subconcious guides us along the artistic path.  Connections are being made on a level I can’t explain.   This piece was created intuitively and quickly – for me.   I normally agonize over colors, placement, balance, etc…  It was the first time everything came together for me – in fabric, and in my mind.  I finally got it.

Create something every day.  You might not know why you are making something, but if you feel the need to try something new, if you need to have your sewing machine humming, or to embroider by hand, carve a stamp, screen print some fabric, etc – do it.  You don’t need to justify your actions.  Simply enjoy the process.  It will all come together someday, sometime, somehow. 

Hugs….

Leave a Reply

